Hello world!


Pagan veterans of the United States Armed Forces – wow, what a concept! I don’t know who this little adventure will offend most, religious bigots such as a certain former President of the United States who claimed that we didn’t have a religion at all and wanted us thrown out of the military or Pagans full of peace, love and light and for whom the very concept of military service is anathema. Hopefully, both sides will feel equally confronted and insulted.

An probably the first Neo-Pagan in the United States military (July, 1969) I want to talk about the things that I feel are important, hopefully that other Pagan veterans feel are important as well. But if you think that all Pagan veterans will be in agreement with anything I say, you just don’t know Pagan very well. But, hopefully, you will get to know this one.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and stay tuned for ever greater insanity. And if anyone knows anything about blogging and how I should go about either the writing or the technical stuff like creating subscription buttons or (VERY IMPORTANT) making money, drop me an email.

Charles

About paganveteran

National Coordinator of the Pagan Veterans Headstone Campaign and current National Commander, Pagan Veterans of the United States of America. Author, writer, poet, speaker and general disturber of the peace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello world!

  1. paganveteran says:

    There is sometimes an odd look that comes on peoples’ faces at Pagan festivals and events when you let it be known that you are a veteran of the Armed Forces. Just this last Sunday I was manning a booth for Pagan Veterans of the United States of America, handing our information when one young lady to whom I had given material shoved it back in my face with the message that I, my views and the organization which I was representing had absolutely no right at a respectable Pagan Pride Day.

    How odd. If it wasn’t for veterans this obviously Pagan teenager would not have the right to practice her religion.

    • Amy says:

      Ok, that makes no sense. How is it that a Pagan organization should not be at a Pagan Pride Day? You are proud to be a Pagan, and you happen to be a Vet, and you happen to be a part of an organization who is trying to protect both such entities. Ah, well… to be young and ignorant, I suppose. I wonder if she says the same thing to the VFW and American Legion groups that have tables out at Memorial Day and Independence Day parades.

      • paganveteran says:

        Amy, I have no idea what (or if) she was thinking. I think it was just something that she had picked up about Pagans being peaceful. And yes, I think she would react just as strongly to the American Legion or the VFW.

        Please note, all of you, that while I did try to engage this young woman in a discussion, I was nice. Yes, your read right, I was nice, polite even. I guess I was just having an off day.

        I want to cover this idea that some Pagan have that we are all, or at least should be, pacifists. I’m also planning on getting into the nitty gritty of the Pagan Veterans Headstone Campaign and the kinds of resistance we encountered from withing the Pagan community, including from some very well known BNPs. Maybe later today, maybe tomorrow or even later, but I WILL deal with both of these topics fairly soon.

        Charles

Leave a Reply

